Watch: Rohit Sharma on the importance of West Indies ODI series | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: After winning the two-Test series 1-0, India gear up to face the West Indies in a three-match ODI series starting with the first match at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown in Barbados on Thursday.

For the first time in their cricket history, two-time champions West Indies will be missing the ODI World Cup to be staged later this year in India as they failed to qualify for the marquee event.

On the eve of the first ODI, India captain Rohit Sharma explained the importance of West Indies ODI series, in a video shared by the BCCI on their Twitter handle.
In the video, Rohit says, “For us this series is very important because many players are new here, they haven’t played much matches, so its important to give them exposure, they should be played and given a role and we will also get a chance to see that if they have been given a role, how they are performing in the role, how they are responding. We had focussed on all these things before the T20 World Cup last year that the new players who have come in the team how they perform in the roles they have been given. In the 3 matches here, we will see what all players we can give chances to and then we will take a decision after these 10-12 ODIs (before the World Cup).”

West Indies have recalled left-handed batsman Shimron Hetmyer and fast bowler Oshane Thomas for the three-match ODI series against India.

Former captains Nicholas Pooran and Jason Holder were not available for selection, while all-rounder Keemo Paul missed out with injury.

Fast bowler Jayden Seales and leg-spinner Yannic Cariah have been included following their rehabilitation from surgery. Left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie has also been drafted in following his recovery from a lower-back injury.

Teams (from):
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar
West Indies: Shai Hope (captain), Rovman Powell (vice-captain), Alick Athanaze, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Dominic Drakes, Shimron Hetmyer, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair, Oshane Thomas

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *